The Seven Chakras - A Beginners Guide

Posted on 06 August 2017

A beginner's guide to the seven chakras

What are chakras? Chakras are seven energy centres in the body through which energy flows. The word Chakra is derived from the Sanskrit word for wheel, as chakras are thought of as spinning wheels at points through the center of the body. These points represent points through with energy flows and is balanced, each aligned with a specific purpose and attributes - physical, emotional and spiritual.

The premise of the chakras is that all living things are connected. It supposes that through our bodies stretches a cable that grounds us to the earth and connects us to the universe. This cord runs through each of our 7 chakra energy centres, which direct the flow of energy, called prana, through our bodies.

The aim of the chakras is to align this flow of energy, to live in a state of balance. When they are misaligned, chakras are said to be over or under active, manifesting in challenges both within and outside of the body.

The first three chakras, located in the lower half of the body, relate to our physical body. The middle chakra, the heart, connects our physicality with our spiritual side. The final three chakras are related to our spiritual connections.

Working with chakras to open or to balance your energy centres can be a very fulfilling way to approach yoga or meditation, by connecting with a specific chakra or working with the chakra system. There are various ways in which you can work with your chakras, including using crystals, language, visualisation, food, aromatherapy.

While there is so much more information we could explore, below is a brief summary of the seven chakras.


Root Chakra Mala

Root Chakra Mala Necklace

Guide to Chakras - Root Chakra
Root chakra



The Root or Base chakra is the foundation, being the first chakra. It provides grounding, stability, security and confidence. When it's balanced we feel safe and confident.

Colour: Red

Location: Base of the spine

Symbol: Four petaled lotus

Gemstones: Red Jasper, Tigers Eye, Agate


Guide to Chakras - Sacral Chakra
Sacral Chakra



The Sacral chakra rules our relationships and sexuality. It fuels our creative energy and emotions. When the Sacral chakra is balanced we have an abundant, creative life with fulfilling relationships.

Colour: Orange

Location: Between the base of the spine and navel

Symbol: Crescent moon in a six petaled lotus

Gemstones: Carnelian, Citrine, Moonstone


Guide to Chakras - Solar Plexus Chakra
Solar Plexus Chakra



The Solar Plexus is our power center. From here comes our confidence and control, and governs our self esteem. When it is balanced, you feel self assured and motivated. 

Colour:  Yellow

Location: Above the navel

Symbol: Upside down triangle with six petal lotus

Gemstones: Citrine, Tigers Eye, Amber, Prehnite

Heart Chakra Mala Necklace

 Heart Chakra Mala Necklace

Guide to Chakras - Heart Chakras
Heart Chakra



The Heart chakra related to love for oneself and for others. It encompasses all that goes with love, relationships, connection and compassion. When it is balanced we feel love, compassion, joy and acceptance in our lives.

Colour: Green and pink

Location: At the heart

Symbol: Two intersecting triangles and a lotus flower with twelve petals

Gemstones: Rose Quartz, Jade, Emerald, Green Aventurine, Peridot


Guide to Chakras - Throat Chakra
Throat Chakra 



The Throat chakra influences communication, self expression and the truth. It allows us to connect with our inner truth and intentions. When it is balanced, we can communicate our emotions and thoughts clearly and authentically.

Colour: Blue or turquoise

Location: Throat

Symbol: Sixteen petaled lotus

Gemstones: Lapis Lazuli, Aquamarine, Turquoise, Sodalite

 Throat Chakra Mala Necklace
Guide to Chakras - Third Eye Chakra
Third Eye Chakra



The Third Eye chakra connects with our intuition, insight and inspiration. It is our connection with the brain, our sixth sense and wisdom. When it is balances, you can trust your instincts and think clearly.

Colour: Indigo

Location: Between the eyebrows

Symbol: Upside down triangle and lotus flower with two petals

Gemstones: Amethyst, Purple Fluorite, Iolite


Guide to Chakras - Crown Chakra
Crown Chakra



The Crown chakra is the final chakra, the centre of the body for connection with the divine and enlightenment. It represents devotion and spirituality. When the Crown chakra is balanced we feel connected to a higher power and connected to ourselves.

Colour: Purple

Location: Top of the head

Symbol: Thousand petal lotus

Gemstones: Amethyst, Clear Quartz, Moonstone


Crown Chakra Necklace


More Posts


Leave a comment

Search our store